Goshen Township Historical Society
Goshen Twp. Historical Society Campus
Our History Library
The History Library is a treasure trove of historical books, photos and documents, and a valuable resource for anyone seeking historical information on Goshen, as well as its families, farms and events throughout the decades.
Staffed by GTHS members and longtime Goshen residents, our volunteers are happy to assist you with research requests or show you the many fascinating items that make up this unique and important collection.
Please remember that we are an all-volunteer organization and completing a thorough review of materials to accommodate your research request may take several weeks. Donations for research requests are not required but greatly appreciated and can be made by credit card directly on our home page.
Our History Library was part of a major renovation to the museum. The little-used narrow kitchen and a small adjoining room were gutted and transformed into a history library infused with character at every turn. GTHS member Tim Johnson created the design and donated his skills as a finish carpenter. Using 100+ year old reclaimed wood and repurposing fixtures, hardware and antique industrial pieces, Tim has created a space as special as the treasures it holds. New functionality blends seamlessly with vintage style, to provide us with a space to work, research, display and enjoy. The History Library is a must-see stop for all those who tour our Museum.
Museum, also known as The Anchorge, is located at 1843 SR 28, Goshen OH 45122, next to the fire station. It is open every Tues 10am - noon and the 1st Wed of the month from 6-8pm from April through December. Group tours available by appointment. To request a group tour, use the form below.
Now the home of the Goshen Township Historical Society, it was the Hawkins family who christened the house "The Anchorage" during their residence in the 1940's. The house' story, however, began more than 100 years earlier as a humble farmhouse. In fact, The Anchorage is one of four stone houses built in the area at about the same time. Today only two remain.
Built between 1825 - 1830, Benjamin Thacker is believed to be the home's first owner. Constructed of limestone quarried from O'Bannon Creek, the walls of the house are 10-12 inches thick, with chimneys built inside for warmth. There were originally three rooms up and three rooms down, including a large "keeping room," three fireplaces on the first floor and one on the second. A full basement with rock foundation runs under the front or main part of the house.
Dr. Daniel Lyman lived in the house during the late 1800's until his death in 1910. He added a frame addition of three rooms for a laboratory and office (called a surgery) at the rear of the building. Dr. Lyman’s surgery no longer stands, but later owners and tenants made their own additions and improvements. Fortunately all were careful not to significantly alter the home's architectural integrity.
In 1993 the Goshen Historical Society renovated and moved into The Anchorage which now serves as an historical museum featuring permanent and changing exhibits. Special events and community functions are held regularly at the museum.
Our Log Cabin
Goshen Log Cabin at Cook Farm is located next to Goshen High School at 6707 Goshen Road. From November through March, the cabin is open for special events and group tours by appointment. Open the third Sunday of the month April - October.
The Society has restored the house to the original early 1800's authenticity as a part of our community's history and heritage, and as an educational facility for the students of the school district.
It is believed the log cabin was built around 1804 by German craftsmen for Jacob Stroup. The house and farm were purchased by James Cook in 1875. The Cooks lived and farmed this property for over 100 years. Miss Aurelia E. Cook, heir and member of the original Cook family, was a revered teacher in the Goshen School system. Miss Cook devoted her life to the education of the Goshen community. She lived on the farm in the log house (which received several additions and modifications over time) until her death in 1995. It is fitting that today the Goshen schools, to which Miss Cook devoted her life, can be viewed from her old family home.
The farm also includes a recently restored bank barn, 1950's pole barn, smoke house and outhouse. The foundation of a spring house remains, although the building has since collapsed. A working blacksmith shop, completed in 2018 and constructed by member Jamie Gier, serves as an historical replica and an education center for metal and smith arts. Today the property is a living history exhibit of farm life from the Pioneer period (1803-1880's) through the Depression Era (1929-1940).
This site has become a focal point of our school system and community. The Historical Society operates the site for tours, reenactments and education symposiums. Donations for tours are appreciated and can be made by credit card directly on our home page.